BULL$H!T! Be Authentic – My Weekend with Jeffrey Gitomer

alex-headshot-revised3Have you ever had the opportunity to spend time around someone who knows what they’re doing, and calls “BS” on people when they don’t? People react differently to a person like this; usually they are offended or sheepishly make themselves scarce for fear of being called out themselves.

But there are some that rise to the challenge and learn from such refreshing talent. Last weekend, the Masterminds team got to spend two days with Jeffrey Gitomer, world renowned sales coach and author, and it was a refreshing exercise of self discovery. He didn’t show up with a bag of tricks, some magic formula for success or a stack of books to sell us. He walked in the door, sat down and started building relationships.

“What’s your name, where are you from? Why are you here? Where do you see yourself in 3 years?” Jeffrey inquisitively prodded my team to learn more about them. He later commented, “I can learn a lot about the way someone will trust you based on where they’re from and some of their prior experiences.”

Where were the closing techniques? Where were the slick one-liners? “Relationships”, “Trust”…I thought we were going to talk about sales!?!

Early the next morning, Jeffrey and I walked into a bagel shop to grab a quick bite. Jeffrey bantered with the staff, running them through the paces to see if they were on their game. Visibly thrown off at first, the staff quickly became endeared to him. This was not your average walk in and go customer. I could see them thinking, “This guy is interested in what we do and how we do it.” We learned one of the cashiers is the owners’ daughter, and what their top selling bagels are. I’d bet money we could have sold them ANYTHING at that moment.

I finally got it. So simple, so obvious, once you see it in action. Sales is not about being slick, with cute PowerPoints and polished one-liners. It’s about connecting with who you’re talking to, genuinely having interest in their goals and dreams, and being a part of that plan for their success.photo

We talked about the ‘salesman switch’ – when you go from a normal, interesting human being to a soulless sales robot. “Mr. merchant, who currently does your advertising? What is your budget? Let’s talk ROI…” Ugh! Is ANYONE having fun in that conversation??

When asked on Monday what the greatest lesson I learned from Jeffrey was – it was to be authentic and true to myself. I love business, and I love to help people succeed. I am going to keep my “sales switch” to ‘normal Alex mode” and be myself. I challenge you to do the same.

You can learn more about my good friend Jeffrey Gitomer and some of his training courses at www.gitomer.com

8 responses

  1. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

    1. Of course! Thanks for reading, we’ll try to keep up with beneficial content for all.

  2. I don’t even understand how I finished up here, but I assumed this publish was once good. I do not understand who you might be however certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger should
    you aren’t already. Cheers!

  3. Hello there, I found your website by the use of Google at the same
    time as looking for a comparable matter, your web
    site came up, it appears great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply become aware of your blog via Google, and located that it is really informative. I’m going to watch out
    for brussels. I’ll be grateful in the event you proceed this in future. Lots of other people will probably be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  4. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something that I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  5. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You appear to grasp a lot about this, such as you wrote the guide in it or something.
    I think that you simply could do with a few percent to pressure the message house a bit, but instead of that, this is
    excellent blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  6. Since the admin of this site is working, no hesitation very rapidly it
    will be renowned, due to its quality contents.

  7. Hi to all, it’s actually a good for me to pay a visit this website, it includes helpful Information.

Leave a Reply

